The region of a Dreamcast console is set in a read-only portion of the Dreamcast's flash ROM. A console's region can therefore be changed by performing a temporary modification to enable write access to that section of the Flash ROM and modifying the region setting. After the region is changed, it is strongly recommended to undo the write access modification, as software can accidentally overwrite the region information, bricking the Dreamcast.
This page is a stub page. It needs to be expanded with more detail. If you know more information about this topic, please sign up and contribute to dreamcast.wiki!